• Tunerfest Midlands - Donington Park
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Donington Park Driving Experiences
  • 2021 MSV Season Passes
Rea rallies to WorldSBK triple at Donington Park

Sunday, July 07 2019

Kawasaki's reigning four time champion Jonathan Rea completed a treble WorldSBK victory at Donington Park this afternoon (Sunday), after emerging on top of a scrap with Turkish rider Toprak Razgatlioglu to extend his championship lead. 

Rea finished just three tenths of a second clear of Razgatlioglu after a near race-long fight, with former championship leader Alvaro Bautista finishing third, his only visit to the podium all weekend. 

Donington local Alex Lowes claimed fourth for Yamaha after a late pass on fellow local man Leon Haslam who took fifth for Kawasaki. 

Loris Baz completed a successful weekend for the Ten Kate Yamaha squad with sixth place ahead of Tom Sykes, who climbed up several places on his starting position to take seventh. 

Michael van der Mark, Chaz Davies and Marco Melandri completed the top-10. 

Rea made a great start from pole to build an immediate lead, but was pegged back by Razgatlioglu who made a pass for the lead at the Melbourne Hairpin on lap three. The Puccetti Kawasaki rider held the lead for three laps until he made an error at the scene of his move on lap six, allowing Rea back through. 

Haslam then moved passed the Turkish rider at Fogarty's next time around, only to be re-passed at Mellbourne. Spurred on, Razgatlioglu moved back into the lead at Melbourne on lap eight, and again held the advantage for several laps, only for Rea to move past on the exit of Fogarty's on lap 12. 

Rea then kept the lead for the rest of the race, pulling out a small margin to the Puccetti machine to claim his third win of the weekend and stretch his title advantage to 24 points, having been 16 points behind starting the weekend. 

Donington Park WorldSBK Race Two result:

1. Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki Racing Team, 23 laps
2. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Turkish Puccetti Racing, +0.365s
3. Alvaro Bautista, ARUBA.IT Racing Ducati, +5.930s
4. Alex Lowes, Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team, +6.334s
5. Leon Haslam, Kawasaki Racing Team, +6.833s
6. Loris Baz, Ten Kate Racing, +7.441s
7. Tom Sykes, BMW Motorrad WorldSBK, +8.542s
8. Michael van der Mark, Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team, +14.850s
9. Chaz Davies, ARUBA.IT Racing Ducati, +18.124s
10. Marco Melandri, GRT Yamaha WorldSBK, +29.115s