• British Superbikes - Donington Park
  • British Touring Cars - Donington Park
  • British GT and GB3 Championships - Donington Park
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Donington Park Driving Experiences
BRITISH GT RACE: Father and son pairing win epic at Donington

Sunday, July 11 2021

Richard and Sam Neary won this afternoon's British GT contest at Donington Park, finishing well clear of their nearest rivals in a race full of drama.

The pairing didn't set a lap time in qualifying after suffering a brake disc explosion, causing major damage to their Mercedes AMG GT3 machine, and forcing them to start from the back of the GT3 pack in 10th place.

But aided by plenty of attrition, with only 12 of the 23 cars finishing the race, the pair recovered in style to take the flag almost 16 seconds clear of the similar machine driven by RAM Racing pair Yelmer Buurman and Ian Loggie.

Drama hit right from the start as the WPI Motorsport Lamborghini of Phil Keen/Michael Igoe spun at Redgate, and was collected by the Barwell Lamborghini of Leo Machitski and Dennis Lind. The WPI machine was out on the spot, while the Barwell car continued but retired to the pits.

There was further action as another four cars were wiped out within five laps, allowing the Nearys to climb rapidly up the order and take the lead on the safety car restart at lap 10.

Despite all the trouble around them, the father and son pairing kept their cool to lead the remaining 66 laps of the two hour contest, to head home a Mercedes 1-2.

The Beechdean Aston Martin Vantage of Jonny Adam and Andrew Howard completed the GT3 podium with third place, just half a second ahead of the McLaren of Morgan Tillbrook and Marcus Clutton.

British GT Championship, Donington Park, result

1. Team ABBA Racing, Sam Neary/Richard Neary, Mercedes AMG GT3, 76 laps
2. RAM Racing, Yelmer Buurman/Ian Loggie, Mercedes AMG GT3, +15.931s
3. Beechdean AMR, Jonny Adam/Andrew Howard, Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3, +24.458s
4. Enduro Motorsport, Morgan Tillbrook/Marcus Clutton, McLaren 720S GT3, +24.912s
5. Barwell Motorsport, Sandy Mitchell/Adam Balon, Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, +25.109s
6. Balfe Motorsport, Stewart Proctor/Lewis Proctor, McLaren 720S GT3, +33.871s
7. Paddock Motorsport, Martin Plowman/Kelvin Fletcher, Bentley Continental GT3, +1m03.962s
8. Century Motorsport, Gus Burton/Will Burns, BMW M4 GT4, +5 laps
9. Century Motorsport, Chris Salkeld/Andrew Gordon-Colebrooke, BMW M4 GT4, +6 laps
10. Fox Motorsport, Jamie Stanley/Nick Halstead, McLaren 570S GT4, +6 laps
11. Car Gods with Cicely Motorsport, Jake Giddings/Dave Whitmore, Mercedes AMG GT4, +6 laps
12. Team Rocket RJN, James Kell/Jordan Collard, McLaren 570S GT4, +6 laps